The Official Web Page of
Union for Compact Accelerator-driven Neutron Sources



Although the field of neutron scattering has been flourishing for many decades now, advances in science and technology in this field have been dominated by a fruitful combination of major international facilities (based on reactors as at the ILL, HBIR, NCNR, JRR or large accelerators such as at IPNS, ISIS, SNS and JSNS) supported by networks of smaller research reactor facilities (e.g. those at Berlin, Vienna, Budapest, Missouri and many others). Recent advances in accelerator technology and neutronic design have made possible the construction of small-scale accelerator-driven neutron facilities that will be able to play a significant role in future advancements in neutron technology and science. This opens up new opportunities for organizations to enter the field of neutron physics with modest investments and without the proliferation and safety concerns associated with building a new research reactor. Such facilities can be used in fields as diverse as materials science, nuclear physics, medical physics, engineering, and cultural heritage. A satellite meeting to the ICANS-XIX Meeting (March 2010, Grindelwald, Switzerland) offered an opportune occasion to consolidate an alliance among institutions interested in constructing and operating such facilities. At this meeting participants unanimously acceded to the establishment of the Union for Compact Accelerator-driven Neutron Sources (UCANS). The eight initial members—those in attendance at this initial meeting—were: from the USA, Argonne National Lab (ANL) and Indiana University, from Japan, the High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), Hokkaido University, Kyoto University and RIKEN, from China, Peking University and Tsinghua University, with additional potential members from elsewhere. Jack Carpenter of ANL serves as the initial spokesperson of UCANS. In view of the actively ongoing works on accelerators, target-moderators, instruments and optics, all members felt a genuine need for frequent meetings (every ~6 months rather than 2 years like ICANS). The participants of this new collaboration are united in their firm believe that UCANS is complementary to ICANS membership in both collaborations is encouraged.


    UCANS Charter

UCANS Board Members (Being re-defind)

UCANS Members
C. ANDREANI University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
D. V. BAXTER Indiana University, USA
T. Brückel Jülich GmbH, Germany
S.H. CHEN Institute of Nuclear Energy Research, Taiwan
J. DAWIDOWSKI Comision Nacional de Energia Atomica, Argentina
M. FURUSAKA Hokkaido University, Japan
J. R. GRANADA Comision Nacional de Energia Atomica, Argentina
T. GUTBERLET Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany
K. HIROTA Nagoya University, Japan
W. Hines Univ. Tesessee Knoxville, USA
E. Iverson SNS, USA
T. KAMIYAMA Hokkaido University, Japan
Y. KIYANAGI Nagoya University, Japan
C. H. LEE Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea
D. W. LEE Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea
Y. LIU CIAE, China
Y. LU Peking University, China
D. Marquart Univ. Windsor, Canada
A. Menelle LLB Sacray, France
F. MEZEI ESS, Sweden
R. SENESI University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
H. M. SHIMIZU Nagoya University, Japan
V. SHVETSOV Frank Laboratory of Neutron Physics, Russia
F. SORDO ESS-Bilbao, Spain
X. WANG Tsinghua University, China
S. WANG Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

Member Institutes

Part of the Center for the Exploration of Energy and Matter, a OVPR Center at Indiana University
The Compact Pulsed Hadron Source at Tsinghua University
Hokkaido University Neutron Source, Laboratory of Quantum Beam System Engineering of Hokkaido University
RIKEN Accelerator-driven Neutron Source, RIKEN
Neutron Science Division of KEK
ESS Bilbao, Spain
Sun Yat-Sen University
INFN (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare), Italy
Neutron Imaging Facility at Peking University, Part of the State Key Laboratory of Nuclear Physics and Technology
Kyoto University Acclerator-driven Neutron Source, Japan
Nagoya University Acclerator-driven Neutron Source, Japan
Centre national de la recherche scientifique, France
Jülich Centre for Neutron Science , Germany
CNEA , Argentina